Urbana Park District

Urbana Park District Board of Commissioners

The Urbana Park District Board of Commissioners oversees the operation of the Urbana Park District. The five-member board is elected by voters who live within the Urbana Park District boundaries and each member serves a six-year term. The public is welcome to attend meetings of the Urbana Park District Board of Commissioners. UPD monthly board meetings are taped and broadcast on UPTV, channel 6. See the UPTV broadcast schedule.

When are Board Meetings?

Regular board meetings are the second Tuesday of each month at 7pm. The schedule may occasionally vary. See the complete board meeting schedule here.

Where are Board Meetings?

Planning and Operations Office
1011 E. Kerr Ave., Urbana
The office is east of the intersection of Cunningham Avenue and Kerr Street.

May I Participate in Board Meetings?

The board conducts regular business at each meeting. There is time for public comment at the beginning of the meeting. Members of the public are asked to submit a card with their name and address and indicate whether they wish to address the board. Comments are kept to two minutes. The board will not be able to respond to comments during the meeting but comments are entered into the minutes and the board may be able to address comments at a later time.

What Happens at Board Meetings?

Download the board meeting agenda here.


Board Members

MichaelWalkerMichael Walker / President
Commissioner since 1983
Next up for election 2019

A native of Urbana, Michael Walker is a graduate of Urbana High School and the University of Illinois. Before becoming a commissioner, he served on the district’s advisory committee, UPDAC. He is very proud of the park district’s combination of formal recreational programs, natural areas and informal recreation opportunities that serves the life-long needs of all of Urbana’s residents.

A computer software specialist, Michael retired from the University of Illinois in 1998 to begin his own consulting business. He is a frequent visitor to both Crystal Lake and Meadowbrook parks.
E-mail:  mwwalker at urbanaparks.org


NancyDelcomynNancy Delcomyn / Commissioner
Commissioner since 1993
Next up for election 2023

Prior to her election in 1993, Nancy Delcomyn served on UPDAC, the Urbana Park District Advisory Committee. She became interested in serving on the board because of the excellent balance of parks, natural areas and recreation the district has achieved. Nancy is an avid gardener and needle worker.
E-mail:  nadelcomyn at urbanaparks.org



Bob Stewart / Vice President
Commissioner since 2007
Next up for election 2019

Bob Stewart was elected to his first term as commissioner in April 2007. Prior to his election he served on UPDAC for three years, the final year as UPDAC president.
Bob has been involved with parks and recreation for many years, having earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Regional/Urban Planning from Iowa State University. Bob was an Edge-Scott Fire Protection District volunteer in the 1980s, and has volunteered as a girl scout co-leader.
E-mail:  bpstewart at urbanaparks.org


meredith_blumthalMeredith Blumthal / Commissioner
Commissioner since 2010
Next up for election 2021

Meredith Blumthal became a member of the Champaign-Urbana community as a University of Illinois student in 1997. In 2000, she moved to Urbana and has been a resident since.

Meredith’s professional background is in horticulture and agricultural economics and she is the Director of Education Abroad for the College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences (ACES) at the University of Illinois. Meredith recognizes the public good which parks serve and the benefits to all age groups and continues to enjoy serving the community in this capacity. She is also active in the C-U One-to-One Mentoring Program.
E-mail:  mrblumthal at urbanaparks.org


LaShaunda Cunningham / Commissioner
Commissioner since 2015
Next up for election 2021

Lashaunda Cunningham was born and raised in the Champaign-Urbana community. Prior to her election, Lashaunda served on UPDAC for 2 ½ years and as UPDAC president for six months of those 2 ½ years.

Lashaunda has been involved with parks and recreation for several years in different capacities. She earned her Bachelor’s Degree in General Studies and Master’s Degree in Family and Consumer Sciences from Eastern Illinois University. She will complete her second Master’s Degree in December 2015 in Social Services Administration from the University of Illinois at Springfield. Lashaunda’s recent involvement includes Vice President of Jettie Rhodes Neighborhood Day, committee member of UCAP, member of the Urbana Police Task Force committee, and PTA at the Urbana High School. Lashaunda enjoys the parks, park programming, bridging the gap in diversity, and making a difference in the community.
Email: lrcunningham at urbanaparks.org 


Other Public Meetings

The Urbana Park District Advisory Committee (UPDAC) is a group appointed by the Board of Commissioners and hold public meetings on the 4th Tuesday of each month (excluding July and December) at 7pm at the Planning and Operations Office, 1011 E. Kerr Street, Urbana

The public is also invited to occasional park and neighborhood planning meetings. These are announced in advance.

© Copyright 2018 Urbana Park District. All Rights Reserved. www.urbanaparks.org